Special Olympics

New Rochelle's Special Olympics athletes were honored by the Board of Education last week for several accomplishments, including earning the “Outstanding School Award” from the Special Olympics Public School Sports League.

The New Rochelle Pioneers, formed in 1992 and now coached by Rhonda Boychew, compete in soccer, floor hockey, basketball and track and field. The team was chosen to receive the award due to recent achievements, such as increasing the number of student athletes, hosting the regional Special Olympics Basketball tournament, attending multiple Special Olympics weekend events, and more.

The Board’s resolution also noted that the team, with 44 members, is at a new high; has shown great resilience throughout the COVID-19 pandemic; and that team members embody an inspirational statement made by Special Olympics founder Eunice Kennedy Shriver at the inaugural Special Olympics international games in 1968: “Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.”

Students gathered on stage during the Board meeting at New Rochelle High School. They were presented with certificates and given several rounds of applause for their hard work, tenacity, and accomplishments. In addition, each was treated to a cupcake topped by the Special Olympics logo

Honorees were Alondra Alvarez; Anderson Alvarez; Enrique Alvarez; Ascen Azurutae; Renaze' Azurutae; Jonathan Choflet; Christopher Conte; Salvador Corona; Brandon Cosby; Thallys DaCosta-Lima; Angela DiSapia; Dioka Ezike; Jesus Gonzalez; Takuto Igarashi; Gabriella Irizarry; Jeremiah Jackson; Samuel Jones; Ethan Leandre; Aston Lewis; Diego Lopez; Julian Mejias; Juan Mendoza-Garcia; Amanda Monzon; William Monzon; Joseph Mui; Alyssa Padilla; Kendra Quamily; Daniela Rameriz; Ny'Rell Robinson; Andre Shacha; Kareylo Slyvain; Adrian Somoza-Almeda; Noemi Stitt; Eberhard Tapia Rojas; Luis Tellez; Maggie Towers; Lucas Vega; Ruth Wambui; and Linly Zheng.

High school athletes eligible to participate in Special Olympics are welcome to become involved with the New Rochelle
Pioneers. Email rboychew@nredlearn.org for more information.